TTCF Invitational Christmas Hamper Tournament

The Trinidad and Tobago Chess Foundation's team have much to celebrate following their 3rd and 4th place wins in the Team division of the Junior Orange Bowl International Scholastic held over the Christmas holidays.

Ten Local Chessists cut short their Christmas holidays to participate in the Junior Orange Bowl International Scholastic Championships, which was staged at the Embassy Suites Hotel, Miami, Florida, from December 27 29. Representing the Trinidad and Tobago Chess Foundation were Justin Labastide, from the Holistic Primary School, Jardel Dixon-Harry from Newtown Boys', Issac Pegus from Blackman's Private School, Melchizedek Pegus from St. George's College, Tivin Jamaal-John from St. Mary's College and from Grant Memorial Presbyterian School Zachary Ali, Sean Bridglalsingh, Kosi Regis, Zarius Ali and Frederick Ali.

The annual contest attracted 109 players representing various clubs from six (6) countries: Ecuador, Jamaica, USA, Russia, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago competed for top honours in the team and individual events.

The Chess Foundation team trailed Jamaica's Irie teams A and B in the Nine and under team event with a total of 16 points in third place. Jamaica scored 19 and 17 points respectively winning the top two spots. Seventeen teams contested this division.

In the 10-12 team event the Chess Foundation placed 4th out of eighteen (18) teams that competed in this division. Three Kings and a Queen Chess Club from Miami won with 17.5 points followed by Jamaica Irie Chess Club with 17.5 point in second place, Hialeah Gardens Chess Club of Florida third also with 17.5 points and the chess Foundation fourth with 13 points. The first places were decided by the application of the tie-break system.

However, our fortunes were not so good in the Individual event. Our best performances came from Zarius Ali and Melchizedek Pegus who placed 9th in the 9 and Under division and 13-16 categories respectively.

P.S. Photo of Team players celebrating their 3rd and 4th place winnings: From Left Sean Bridglalsingh, Justin Labastide, Jardel Dixon-Harry, Isaac Pegus and Melchizedek Pegus.